top of page

Doctor and Patient

July 25th 2020








Watch the video. Learn about imperative verbs. Then do the tasks.



What do you know about imperative verbs?

Imperative verbs give instructions or give advice.

They do not have a pronoun before them.

Examples: “Go to bed.” Go is an imperative. It gives an instruction.

We go to bed at 11 pm. go is not an imperative.

Task 1. Are the verbs in these sentences imperative or not?

1. Stop smoking.

2. Take two tablets.

3. You look sick.

4. Stand up for the Queen.

5. They sit very still.

6. He watches tv all day long.

7. Don’t run across the road.

8. I don’t like coffee.

9. She doesn’t like milk.

10. Tell me about your family.

Answers

1. Stop smoking. Yes- imperative

2. Take two tablets. Yes

3. You look sick. NO

4. Stand up for the Queen. Yes

5. They sit very still. no

6. He watches tv all day long. no

7. Don’t run across the road. yes

8. I don’t like coffee. no

9. She doesn’t like milk. no

10. Tell me about your family. yes


Task 2. Write these IMPERATIVE sentences with the words in the right order.

Remember: The verb comes first and it doesn’t have a pronoun.

1. Come seat and in take a Come……………

2. Tell what’s the me matter Tell…….

3. Don’t worry you help I can Don’t…….

4. Take twice two a day tablets Take….

5. Don’t too drink much Don’t….

Now you decide where to start the sentences:

6. Smoking stop

7. every do day exercise some

8. another make appointment

9. next come week back

10. door shut please the


Answers

  1. Come in and take a seat.

  2. Tell me what's the matter.

  3. Don't worry. I can help you.

  4. Take two tablets twice a day.

  5. Don't drink too much.

  6. Stop smoking

  7. Do some exercise every day.

  8. Make another appointment.

  9. come back next week.

  10. Shut the door please.

Task 3 Speaking.

I think I have got Coronavirus.

Help me. What shall I do?

Use IMPERATIVE verbs to give me advice.





Well done, you have finished the activities!

You can watch the video again for practice, or look for more activities with the blue triangle.



27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page