top of page

Future Forms - Level 1/2




Here is an activity to help you practise future forms.


Fill the gaps with an appropriate verb form that indicates future. For each question choose a), b) or c). Write your answers in your notebook.


Questions:


1. We ............................. Rome in January.

a) visit b) are visiting c) will visit


2. John and Alice .............................. in May.

a) get married b) are getting married c) will get married


3. I ............................ probably be home late tonight.

a) will b) am going to c) am


4. I think our party ........................... the election.

a) will win b) would win c) is going to win


5. ........................... I help you?

a) Will b) Shall c) Would


6. ............................. you help me?

a) Will b) Shall c) Should


7. I ............................. kill you if you read my letters again.

a) will b) must c) would


8. By next year we .................................... in America for ten years.

a) will be living b) will have lived c) will live


9. I will think of you when I ............................. on the beach next week.

a) will be lying b) am lying c) will have been lying


10. I will give all that I ..............................

a) have b) had c) will have


11. Don’t call them now – they ............................... dinner.

a) have b) will have c) will be having


12. By next Christmas I ...................................here for ten years.

Please choose 2 correct answers.

a)will work b) will have worked c) will have been working




 

Answers:


Check your answers and read the explanations.

Pay attention to the questions you answered incorrectly. You can write down the rules if you need to.


1. We are visiting Rome in January.

We use the present continuous to talk about future events that have already been planned.


2. John and Alice are getting married in May.

We use the present continuous to talk about future events that have already been planned.


3. I will probably be home late tonight.

We use the simple future to talk about future events which are not already decided.


4. I think our party will win the election.

We use the simple future to talk about future events which are not already decided.


5. Shall I help you?

We can use shall to ask whether someone wants us to do something or to offer help. Will is not possible with this meaning.


6. Will you help me?

We use will in requests for help. Shall is not possible with this meaning.


7. I will kill you if you read my letters again.

Will is used in threats.


8. By next year we will have lived in America for ten years.

We use the future perfect to say that something will be finished or completed by a certain time in the future.


9. I will think of you when I am lying on the beach next week.

When the main clause is in the future tense, we often use present tenses in the subordinate clauses to refer to the future.


10. I will give all that I have.

When the main clause is in the future tense, we often use present tenses in the subordinate clauses to refer to the future.


11. Don’t call them now – they will be having dinner.

We often use will to make predictions. Here we use the future continuous because it is something the speaker thinks/suspects is happening right now.


12. By next Christmas I a) will have worked / b) will have been working here for ten years.

The future perfect (a) puts emphasis on completion and the future perfect continuous (b) puts emphasis on the idea of continuity.


These tense forms are used to talk about actions and situations that are currently unfinished but will be finished by a certain point of time in the future.


Well done!


To find more exercises on future forms this, try this page:


For more activities at this level, click the purple arrow:







43 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

English for Life Podcasts: Food in the UK

Listen to the podcast and answer the quiz questions at the end! These podcasts will help you if you are preparing for the English for Life test: Food in the U.K. by English for Life in the UK • A podc

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page